Skip to content


  • Term 1: 29 January* (school teachers start) to 29 March
  • Term 2: 17 April (Tuesday) to 29 June
  • Term 3: 17 July (Tuesday) to 21 September
  • Term 4: 8 October to 21 December

Student-free days

* The first day of Term 1 is a student-free day in all government schools to allow for appropriate planning to take place for the arrival of students.

Each year government schools are provided with four student-free days for professional development, school planning and administration, curriculum development, and student assessment and reporting purposes.

The remaining three student-free days are determined by each individual school. Please check the calendar for our upcoming student-free days.